Recent Searches
Clear

Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise

star-4.5408 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Maximize your time in Liverpool with a hop-on hop-off sightseeing cruise along the Mersey River. Aboard a colorful ‘dazzle ferry,’
  • Audio commentary on board the River Mersey cruise
Saved to wishlist!
Roundtrip ferry
Historical commentary in English - Various language sheets are available on request.
Gratuities
Hotel pick-up and drop off

Departure Point

Liverpool L3 1DP, UK

Departure Time

9/1/2021 - 10/5/2022
Monday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Tuesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Wednesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Thursday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Friday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Saturday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Sunday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Listen to colorful audio commentary about Liverpool’s riverside history, speckled with stories of smuggling, war, and music—all influential players in the city's development. Catch impressive views of Liverpool’s key riverside landmarks and hop off wherever you’d like to explore—another boat will be by to pick you up shortly. 
Itinerary
Pass By:  
The Beatles Story
View from the river
Pass By:  
Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Liverpool Cathedral
View from the river
Pass By:  
Royal Liver Building 360
View from the river
Pass By:  
Museum of Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Arena and Convention Centre Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Tate Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Merseyside Maritime Museum
View from the River
Pass By:  
Royal Albert Dock Liverpool
View from the River
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Coffee shop & restrooms can be found on-board the ferry
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Voucher is valid for anytime on day of travel - Just arrive at least 25 minutes beforehand to redeem your voucher as the ferry leaves on the hour.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mersey Ferries

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
408 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 408 reviews
star-5
The Mersey Beats them all
Gerry_M
, Sep 2021
The Mersey Ferry cruise was really enjoyable and informative. Have a great view of the Liverpool Waterfront and brought into perspective how important the city has been in British history. We did disembark at Birkenhead and Hamilton Square is lovely but really Liverpool has the Star Lines
star-5
It’s Not the Leaving of Liverpool…..
Diane_H
, Sep 2021
Enjoyed everything about it……. A trip down ‘Memory Lane’ for us who remember Royal Iris cruises and Ferries Across the Mersey. Described the ferry as more ‘Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds’ than ‘Yellow Submarine’ given it’s cool psychedelic paint job. One thing that would have enhanced our experience was more ‘Ferry Across the Mersey’ music. Only heard a too short snippet.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for this great review Diane - we love your description of the Ferry or in the words of Gerry and the Pacemakers 'I Like It'. We do play Ferry ‘cross the Mersey at the start of the cruise and a slightly longer segment as we approach Liverpool at the end of trip but I guess we left the crowd wanting more.
star-3
Half a trip
Margaret_O
, Sep 2021
We booked a 3 adult tickets for Wednesday 15/09/21. Arrived and boarded the cruise boat around 12pm. There were no seats available and had to stand, which in itself isn’t bad but it’s a 50 minutes round trip! We got off on the Wirral side to explore a bit but when we returned about a couple of hours to get the cruise boat back, we were told it had engine problems and weren’t sure how long would take to fix it. We were advised to use the train back to Liverpool. We tried to get refund for half of the experience which they refused. The train cost was definitely less than the price of the cruise so felt would have been fair to refund some of the money. The actual experience is good and would book but with a different company who are not money focused!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
We are very sorry, we can only apologise for the vessel breakdown and the inconvenience that this caused you. As you booked through Viator the terminal staff cannot offer an immediate refund however if you contact us directly we will be able to resolve this for you. The email address to use is onlinebookings@liverpoolcityregion-ca.gov.uk
star-4
Experience up the Mersey
Jennifer_B
, Sep 2021
It was nice to see all the famous landmarks and the Mersey. Lovely weather. Relaxing and chilling. Could not hear the commentator all the time.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for this great 4 star review Jennifer. We are pleased you had a relaxing trip on our Mersey Ferry. We are currently looking into the sound levels of the recorded commentary across the boat.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
50 mins Mersey River Cruise - we loved it!
Michelle_E
, Sep 2021
We were a group of four, we wanted to just chill and have a seat and a table. We knew what we wanted and were seated close to the bar. There were two bars, one on our level and one on the level below. On the way out our bar was open, but on the way back, it was closed, so we had to go to the lower level and that bar was open. Tips: If you want a table by the edge of the boat, queue up early, it's worth it if it's busy. If you want to hear the commentary, stay at the top of the boat, we couldn't really hear it to be honest.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for this lovely 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your cruise on the Mersey Ferry and managed to get a seat by the bar. It sounds as though you had a good time. We are currently looking at improving the sound quality of the commentary across the whole boat.
star-5
Nice trip on the Mersey
rowenasykes1
, Sep 2021
Very organised. Nice trip on the Mersey with good commentary. Was interesting to hear the history of the buildings. Pretty boat too “Dazzle Ferry”.
star-3
Joys of restrictions lifted
Bev_S
, Jul 2021
Sadly booked the day when restrictions were lifted and the world and his wife were queued up to go on the ferry. I had prebooked 3 weeks prior but there were no seats so spent the tour standing. History and commentary were good.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review Bev, we do appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the history and the commentary on the Mersey Ferry. We do have processes in place to maintain cleanliness, social distancing and we do remind customers that there is a requirement to wear a face covering for their entire journey on the ferry. Customers are informed of this via information on our website, on site signage and audio safety messages at the start of the cruise. The ferry capacity has been reduced significantly to provide more space on the vessel and we are asking visitors to book online. We have been awarded the official UK ‘We’re Good To Go’ mark to show that we have followed government and industry Covid-19 guidelines.
star-5
Relaxing on a hot day .
Janet_F
, Jul 2021
Relaxing cruise , was nice and cool on board , boat was clean . Couldn’t hear the running commentary at all so but if a waste of time . Bit of a palaver to get tickets , bought online , had to queue for the receptionist to fill out a form , then she printed the tickets , then we queued to get on the boat and no one even checked out tickets !
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the 5 star review Janet, we are pleased you found the cruise relaxing and that the boat was clean. We have passed on your comments about the ticketing procedure and the commentary to our Operations Team Leader. Thank you for this - we do appreciate the feedback.
star-4
Interesting and has kiosk on board
Jeanette_K
, Jul 2021
We certainly didn’t get the boat with the pretty paint work. Which I was expecting. The trip is quite nice it’s windy take a jacket always colder on the water.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the 4 star review Jeanette. We do have to occasionally take our Dazzle Ferry off the river for maintenance as both our Ferries are historic vessels and require constant upkeep. We are glad you enjoyed your River Explorer Cruise and yes the temperature can be a bit cooler when you are sailing on the river!
star-4
Mersey Cruise
Ewan_M
, Jul 2021
What a great way to get a brief history of the City and all the attractions around the River Mersey. Great value for money and really well organised(timings, tickets, staff all spot on). It was cold even in July as o wrap up! It would be great if there was a longer tour that allowed you to stop off at multiple places for a while…like a full River Mersey Cruise.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the great review Ewan, we are glad you enjoyed the River Explorer Cruise and that you found it all really well organised. When our Seacombe terminal reopens next year you can use our River Explorer ticket to get off and explore at both Woodside and Seacombe. Seacombe will have the Eureka museum opening next summer and you can also get to New Brighton from there. Woodside has Woodside Ferry Food Village and is close to the Hamilton Square area of Birkenhead.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise
Likely to Sell Out
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise

star-4.5408

50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$15.33

star-593

1 hour 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$22.29

star-511

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.65

star-4.511

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.87

star-510

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.01

star-54

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.59

star-53

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.01

Explore Similar Things to Do