Recent Searches
Clear

The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cumbria, United Kingdom
The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Witness the grandeur of the Lake District’s central mountains and western fells on this full-day small-group High Mountain Passes tour from Lake Windermere. Travelling in a Mercedes Sprinter minivan, follow a route first traced by the Romans over the Wrynose and Hardknott Passes, two of Britain’s steepest. Ascend the breathtaking Lakeland fells without having to go hiking and visit Roman Hardknott Fort. After a lunch break, admire spectacular views of Wastwater before returning to Windermere via Coniston Water.
  • Full-day High Mountain Passes Spectacular tour from Windermere
  • Travel over the steepest mountain passes in England
  • Fantastic views of Upper Eskdale, Scafell and Scafell Pike
Saved to wishlist!
Transport in a small mini-coach
On-board commentary in English
Food & drink
Additional Entrance fees
Driver’s gratuity (Optional)
  • Mountain Goat Tours , Victoria St, Windermere LA23 1AD, UK

    We meet passengers who select this option at Windermere Information, about 100 meters from the Windermere Railway Station.

  • Bowness Bay , Bowness Bay, Bowness-on-Windermere, Windermere LA23 3HQ, UK

    We meet passengers who select this option at Bowness Bay Pier 3, next to the ticket office.

  • Kelsick Road , Kelsick Rd, Ambleside LA22, UK

    We meet travelers who select this option at the bus stop opposite the Ambleside Library.

  • Oxenholme Station , Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RB, UK

    We meet travelers who select this option at the ticket office in the Oxenholme Railway Station.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    Leave the Windermere area by comfortable, air-conditioned minivan, and journey into the western swathes of the Lake District. Admire the rugged scenery, and travel through the Langdale Valley, a favorite of rock climbers and walkers, as your guide shares information about the region and its culture.

    Ascend both the steep Wrynose and Hardknott Passes, and soak up the spectacular views of the remote fells as you trace the narrow, twisting roads through the peaks. Stop at the ruins of Hardknott Roman Fort at 1,000 feet (304 meters) up on the fells. Take the opportunity to walk around the crumbled, 2nd century complex, built by the Emperor Hadrian, and marvel at the awe-inspiring views to Upper Eskdale, Scafell and Scafell Pike, England’s highest mountains.

    Afterward, continue to Wastwater, a beauty spot once voted as commanding ‘Britain’s favorite view.’ Drink in the panoramas that encompass Wastwater, England’s deepest lake, and the surroundinghigh screes and mountains, including epic Scafell Pike.

    Then, relax on your return journey to Lake Windermere, passing beautiful Coniston Water and the Coniston fells before your tour ends back at the start point.
    Itinerary
    Pass By:  
    Mountain Goat Tours
    Begin your Lake District adventure tour.
    Pass By:  
    Hardknott Roman Fort
    Travel across Hardknott Pass, past the ancient Roman fort before you descend into Eskdale.
    Pass By:  
    Wrynose Pass
    Travel through the beautiful Wrynose Pass as you adventure into the wild Lake District.
    Stop At:  
    Wast Water
    Stop to take in the views at Wastwater, England's deepest lake.
    Duration: 10 minutes
    Admission Ticket Free
    Pass By:  
    Scafell Pike Mountain
    On a good day you may see the peak of Scafell Pike from your vantage point at Wastwater.
    Pass By:  
    Coniston Water
    Pass by the stunning Coniston Water, famous for its links to Donald Campbell and his water speed record attempts and Swallows and Amazons!
    Pass By:  
    Mountain Goat Tours
    End your fantastic day exploring the stunning Lake District.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be 5 years or older to travel on this tour
    • Confirmation is received at the time of booking
    • There will be a designated lunch stop where you’ll be able to purchase lunch
    • There are toilet stops on route
    • Minimal walking is involved
    • Our vehicles are not currently wheelchair accessible
    • Luggage storage is available at the Windermere Information departure location
    • Seats cannot be reserved
    • Each passenger must have their own seat
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
    • OPERATED BY The Mountain Goat
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour?
    A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

    • Face masks provided for travelers
    See all safety measures taken by The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour?
    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    See all safety measures taken by The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Reviews

    5.0
    star-5
    208 Reviews
    1 star
    0

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 208 reviews
    star-5
    Breath-taking experience
    Zainab_U
    , Aug 2022
    Having enjoyed the ten lakes tour the day before, I had 'high' expectations from this tour and I was not disappointed. Breath-taking scenery and each stop was better than the last. A very well organised and enjoyable tour. Thank you
    star-5
    Excellent
    Joy_Y
    , Jul 2022
    Excellent trip, but it was very hot at the back of the car, wish the company allows to open all the air conditioning while it’s sunny day during summer.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Thank you for your review of our High Adventure tour, We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioning on the bus, but please keep in mind that not everybody has the same preference, so we try to meet in the middle, We are glad that you still had an excellent time with us and we hope to see you in the future, Best wishes Mountain Goat
    star-5
    Great experience exploring Lake district
    MandarKelkar
    , Apr 2022
    We had a great time with Mountain Goat Tours. Tony was our guide, and he was knowledgeable. Overall, the tour was punctual and I would go again with them.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Hi MandarKelkar, Thank you for your 5* review, I am pleased to hear you had a great experience with our driver-guide Tony. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-3
    Not pleasant
    Fahimeh_B
    , Apr 2022
    I recommend this tour but not with the mountain goat agent. Our van broke in the middle of the road and we stoke for 1:30 hours to arrive for another van, hopefully, there was a hotel near there and we stayed in the lobby. We missed visiting the castle and for this inconvenience, the agency didn't do anything. At least they can offer us a discount or get a free snake or even a coffee to show that they care for their customers but didn't do anything even say a sorry. Our hotel reception said they used to pick up the customer in front of the hotel but they didn't do that for us. We called them about this issue but they said they wouldn't do that and for these 2 tours we paid 40£ just for transportation, however, the drivers were experts especially Peter for ten lake tours. He had a lot of information about many places that was amazing
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Hi Fahimeh_B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we must say we are naturally disappointed by it however, we are happy you enjoyed the scenery and the areas you visited. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the vehicle breaking down on tour, however we sent a replacement vehicle as soon as possible which meant the tour could continue. We ensured all passengers were safe, warm and after speaking to your driver-guide, all passengers were offered a drink at the nearby hotel, of which the offered wasn’t taken up. Unfortunately, as you booked with a third party agent, we do not offer a hotel pick up service. Had you booked directly you would have been eligible for a pick up from the door. We would always advise customers book directly with our local, knowledgeable, friendly customer service team. Our driver-guide was also under the impression you had driven to the starting point, had you asked the driver-guide to drop you back at your hotel on return, I’m certain he would have obligated. I am pleased to hear you thought the driver-guides were experts and enjoyed the spectacular scenery on offer during the two tours you took with us. We wish you had raised this review with us before posting on TripAdvisor so we could have tried to rectify the situation somewhat. I am sorry you were left feeling unhappy after your tour experience with us, this is never how we wish for customers to leave our tours. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    Experience second to none!
    Millymopsmum
    , Sep 2021
    We travelled with Jim who was lovely, informative, funny and most importantly a great driver! We loved the tour and would definitely recommend it.
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Thank you for reviewing our High Adventure tour, I am pleased you had a great day with Jim and would recommend us. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    The whole trip was...
    Susan_T
    , Sep 2021
    The whole trip was amazing. Our tour guide Duncan was very knowledgable and laid back which added to the enjoyment of the tour
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Hi Susan_T Thank you for your 5* review, I am pleased you had an amazing day with Duncan. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    High roads in Lake District
    Bartosz_S
    , Sep 2021
    Great opportunity to see Lake District from its wild nature. Really loved the Hardknott Pass, even in cloudy weather was impressive. the way how Mark (our driver) went through the steepest and narrowest I have ever seen roads was impressive. :)) great driver, great knowledge and great personality. Thx again for whole trip, I wasn’t bored even for a second. Was few times in Lake District before, but this time I learn few new things about it. Thx again
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Hi Bartosz, Thank you for your 5* review of our High Adventure tour. I am pleased to read you had a great day with our driver-guide Mark and enjoyed the commentary. Hope you can join us again. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    Would recommend
    EUIBYUNG_P
    , Sep 2021
    Really glad we made the best choice. A great day out in the Lake District and the weather was absolutely fantastic. Our driver Duncan is very reliable, informative, humorous and knowledgeable. Thank you for his service again. :)
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Thank you for your 5* review, I am pleased you had a fantastic day and enjoyed Duncan's commentary throughout. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-4
    Worth the money
    Denzil_E
    , Aug 2021
    Good day and the tour guide was excellent only wish we had the weather. Would have loved to have the train trip added as thought this would be included
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Hi Denzil_E, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear you had a good day on our High Adventure tour. Unfortunately, we haven't included the train ride as part of this tour since 2019 due to capacity issues and social distancing. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    Would recommend
    Iram
    , Aug 2020
    A great day out in the Lake District. Informative and interesting tour and a pleasant driver (Mark - dad jokes aplenty). Get to see a lot of the Lakes.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
    Hi Iram, Thanks for reviewing our High Adventure tour and recommending it. I'm pleased to hear you found the tour informative and interesting. I'm sure Mark will be pleased to read your comments. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    Beautiful landmarks excellent guide
    Abisoye_A
    , Jul 2020
    Mark our driver was exceptionally accomodating. He was very knowlegible about the lake district and the landmarks. He was so funny and had.little anecdotes to tell us about the area. He was a brilliant driver very assured and kept informed at all times. We got to see so many waterfalls just beautiful. I recommend this trip highly in fact my family are booking the beatrix potter trip for August this year. Worth every penny
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
    Thank you for reviewing the High Adventure Tour, I'm thrilled to hear you had a fantastic tour with Mark. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Mountain Goat
    star-5
    The most interesting trip we ever have
    Barbara_S
    , Sep 2019
    Kevin was our driver, he knows a lot of interesting stories about history of Beatrix Potter , and he had sense of humor which create that trip very funny , we had weather we could only dream about , such a wonderful experience, thank you!!!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Truly Spectacular.
    Malcolm B
    , Aug 2019
    Surprisingly enchanting. Well organised and professionally handled. Showed us a part of England with steep hills, great vistas and beauty.
    star-4
    Good introduction to the Lake District
    Neil L
    , Aug 2019
    Lake District weather the only real downside to a good day out. Good driver (I’m really pleased I didn’t have to). Good commentary with enough detail to make follow up reading worthwhile. Pub lunch was excellent.
    star-5
    Perfect trip
    Beata_P
    , Jun 2018
    I know what I would change about this trip! Absolutely nothing! It was perfect! We have seen in one day what others may need a few days for. The driver/tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and had a great sense of humor!
    star-5
    Cannot fault our trip. Transport...
    Richard W
    , Oct 2017
    Cannot fault our trip. Transport arrived spot on time and our guide Tony explained the days itinerary and timings. Driving was very professional and Tony's extensive knowledge of the area combined with his wit made it such an enjoyable experience.
    star-5
    Really glad we made the choice to go...
    Nusral_D
    , Oct 2017
    Really glad we made the choice to go on this High Adventure. The weather was fair most of the journey, though at some points the sun showed up and we had some showers too. Our driver Jan is very reliable, informative and knowledgeable. When he was told of a road closed and possible queues, he took the option of a bypass through a one lane road and we had a great view of the mountains along the way. Everyone on the bus are pretty good on timings and overall, a very good trip for everyone.
    star-5
    Our experience started on time and...
    Gowthami R
    , Sep 2017
    Our experience started on time and Jim was our guide throughout the trip. We did have a wet start as it was raining but still managed to catch a glimpse of beautiful mountain ranges and valleys hidden between them. Later in the day the rain faded. We did many stops and went through so many passes whose roads were really narrow and steep edges bordered the roads. Jim handled the drive very smoothly. We got to ride the eskdale train, stopped for Lunch. Had a break at Wast water lake it was a beauty. Then drove around the mountain roads that gave us a glimpse of the Sea , the wind mill farms and Isle of Man at far sight. We visited an iron ore making furnace it was Huge. Then was dropped back at our pick up point. Should say for first time visitors who don't fancy walking or trekking do take a trip to visit the spectacular mountain passes.
    star-5
    Love this tour! Lots of stops to...
    Marcia S
    , May 2017
    Love this tour! Lots of stops to take pictures of the amazing scenery and to see a variety of things.
    star-5
    Wow! this is a tour which should not...
    Mauro C
    , Apr 2017
    Wow! this is a tour which should not be missed. The Mountain Goat Tour was exceptional with the driver's experience and knowledge being a major factor in our enjoyment of the day. The mountain pass roads were enthralling and surprised us around every corner. The visit to the Viking Church was very interesting and Iron Ore furnace was another highlight. The weather was not good but did not stop the enjoyment of the day.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour
    The High Adventure: Full Day Mountain Goat High Mountain Passes Tour

    star-5207

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $73.12

    star-5829

    8 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $52.23

    star-515

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $73.12

    star-4.58

    8 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $84.79

    star-514

    8 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $546.86

    star-4.53

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $430.11

    star-00

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $491.56

    star-51

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $567.18

    star-00

    8 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $491.56
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations